Rad Reading – February

This month I read 14 Ways To Die by Vincent Ralph. This book is a 392-page thriller that takes place in the U.K. This book is about a girl whose mother was killed by a serial killer also known now as the Magpie Man, her mother was the first victim of 13 going on 14 victims. She is determined to unmask the lethal killer. She signs up and auditions for a live-streamed reality tv show. This show would be filming her entire life and the entire public would know everything she does, they film till midnight and then start filming again at 7 in the morning. Jess, the girl, tries to get more attention from the people around her directed toward the case that remains unsolved, the case that hasn’t been solved which allows the Magpie Man to be able to keep murdering people. Since no one has a clue as to who he actually is. She uses her fame as an icon on the reality tv show in order to help her catch him, that is unless he kills her first. The bad thing about being able to get attention because your now a star, is that the public is able to see your every move and Jess has a hard time knowing who to trust.

I really enjoyed this book because even though it’s about a girl trying to catch a serial killer, it shows how her life is affected by the reality tv show filming her every move. Because when everyone knows your every move you never know who to trust. I also enjoyed this book because it included all the topics I like reading about such as love, murder, crime, and mystery. This book also included one really good plot twist that had me shocked. I’d recommend this book to anyone who loves a good ol’ murder mystery book.

My favorite character is the main character Jess, she’s my favorite because she shows that everyone is afraid of something, and she’s also determined. One quote to prove that she’s determined is “…I’m not the kinda person to stream their life on youtube…So if you ask why I want to be one of five people to star in a new online show about them, and only them, it’s pretty simple. I want to catch the Magpie Man, and this is how I’m going to do it.” (pg. 2). This proves she’s determined because she’s going out of her comfort zone only because she is determined to find and put in jail the very killer that killed her mother 10 years ago, which means she is 17 now since she was seven years old when she died.

My favorite quote is “These aren’t memories. They are stains. I couldn’t forget them if I wanted to” this is my favorite quote because it shows us that some memories are so vivid or unforgettable that you will never forget them.

14 Ways To Die eBook : Ralph, Vincent: Kindle Store - Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *